No Former PM to be in House this budget session


New Delhi : Policenama Online – The parliament’s first budget session is scheduled to start on June 17 and former Prime Minister ended up with his 30-year-long tenure as a Rajya Sabha member on Friday.

Also, Deve Gowda, who served as the 11th Prime Minister of India from June 1996 to 1997, lost to BJP’s GS Basavaraj from Tumkur Lok Sabha constituency by little over 13,000 votes.

Earlier, Deve Gowda used to regularly contest from Hassan parliamentary constituency. But this time, he has vacated his seat to field his grandson Prajwal Revanna from there.

Similar to its performance in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the Congress party didn”t perform well in 2019 general election too and only managed to win on 52 seats.

The Congress party could not get him re-elected from Assam as it has only 25 legislators as against 43 first-preference required votes. The party even cannot send Dr Singh from other states where Rajya Sabha seats are vacant. With BJP’s Kamakhya Prasad Tasa and AGP’s Birender Prasad Baishya’s unopposed election from Assam, a total of nine seats are lying vacant in Odisha (4), Tamil Nadu (1), Bihar (2) and Gujarat (2).

You might also like