Pune – The curtains have drawn on the highly successful Season 3 of the Punit Balan Group Apla Pune Cyclothon, an event powered with enthusiasm by Finolex Pipes & Fittings and hosted by Champ Endurance. This exhilarating event took place on March 17, 2024, at the renowned Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex in Mahalunge, Balewadi, Pune, and has once again put the spotlight on the burgeoning cycling culture in the region.

The event, organised by Champ Endurance, unfolded in the early hours, filling the day with energy, enthusiasm, and the shared passion for cycling among participants from cycling groups across Maharashtra, PCPC, Pune Police, PMC, PCMC, Southern Command, Rotary Pune District, NDRF, Indian Navy, Bombay Sappers, AFMC, and numerous corporates.

Celebrating Victories and Achievements

The competitive spirit of the amateur and elite cyclists was on full display across various categories and distances, ranging from the challenging 100km rides to the spirited 25km dashes. Highlighting the winners who emerged victorious in their respective


● 100km Female (16 to 35 years): R Harini SRI clinched first place with an outstanding time of 03:59:41.
● 100km Male (16 to 35 years): Bijen Kumar led the pack, securing first position with a time of 02:44:39.
● 100km Female (36 years & above): Anjali Bhalinge emerged victorious with a time of 03:11:19.
● 100km Male (36 years & above): Michael Lehnig took first place with a time of 02:47:33.
● 50km Female (14 to 35 years): Anjali NingwalI raced to victory, finishing first with a time of 01:36:31.
● 50km Male (14 to 35 years): Harsh Pawar excelled, clinching first place with a time of 01:24:19.
● 50km Female (36 years & above): Gauri Gumaste claimed the top spot with a time of 01:36:31.
● 50km Male (36 years & above): Kiran Subhash Pawar won first place with a time of 01:25:09.
● 25km Female (14 to 35 years): Ananya Upadhyay, leading with a time of 00:46:45.
● 25km Male (14 to 35 years): Tanish Yan Saxena, first place with a time of 00:41:48.
● 25km Female (36 years & above): Yanping Yan, victorious with a time of 00:47:31.
● 25km Male (36 years & above): Vikrant Sunil Alekar, clinching first with a time of 00:41:51.
● 62km Male Elite Category: Om Karande, exceptional performance with a time of 1:31:03.26.
● 31km Female Elite Category: Anjali Ranwade, first place with a time of 0:56:46.96.

Distinguished Guests and a Community United

The event was graced by a host of distinguished dignitaries, emphasizing the cyclothon’s significance as a community and sporting celebration. Among the attendees were:

● Krishna Prakash, IPS, Chief of Force One
● Dr. Chandrakant Pulkundwar, Divisional Commissioner, Pune Division
● Saurabh Rao, Commissioner of Cooperation & Registrar
● Anjali Bhagwat, Olympic Medalist in Rifle Shooting
● Amol Buchade, Maharashtra Kesari & Rustam-e-Hind Kesari
● Rajendra Singh, Retired ADG
● Prashant Narnavre, Commissioner for Women and Child for Maharashtra State, Pune
● Suhas Patil, Jt. Director, Sports
● Ranjan Sharma, Addl.C.P., Pune
● Pratap Jadhav, Vice President CFI (Cycling Federation of India)
● Sumit Bhatia, Vice President, Finolex Pipes & Fittings
● Mohan Chaubal, Yatish Bhatt, Ashok Shinde from Rotary Pune District 3131
● Sandeep Gupta, Nutraceutical Man of India
● Shriram Balasubramanyam, Director, Zuventus Healthcare Limited
● Sooraj Sharma, Chairman, RIIMS Institute
● Sanjay Singh, MD, Engineer’s Horizon

Ravindra Wani, Race Organiser, with Core Team Members Sanjana Lall, Gaurav Firodiya, Sushma Koppikar, Meher Tiwari, Rajashree Wani along with sponsors like Punit Balan and Finolex Pipes & Fittings, expressed their heartfelt gratitude…

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *