Pune Corporation Employees | Pune Municipal Corporation to dismiss over 600 employees from 23 merged gram panchayats
File Photo

Pune : Policenama onlinePune Corporation Employees | The Pune Municipal Corporation (PMC) will dismiss over 600 employees recruited by the erstwhile 23 gram panchayats, which were merged into the civic body last year.


The 23 merged villages were Mahalunge, Sus, Bavdhan Budruk, Kirkatwadi, Pisoli, Kondhwe Dhawde, New Kopre, Nanded, Khadakwasla, Manjri Budruk, Narhe, Holkarwadi, Autade Handewadi, Vadachiwadi, Shewalewadi, Nandoshi, Sanas Nagar, Mangdewadi, Bhilarewadi, Gujar Nimbalkarwadi, Jambhulwadi, Kolewadi and Wagholi.


It was noticed that new recruitments were made in some of these gram panchayats after the merger of the villages. The PMC took over the properties, offices and employees of these gram panchayats last year.


Later, ZP CEO Ayush Prasad set up an inquiry committee to find out bogus recruitment in these gram panchayats. The committee confirmed the bogus recruitment. The names of 46 employees were not registered in the records of these gram panchayats. Till then, the PMC had not issued appointment letters to them. The civic body did not even pay salaries of the employees who were serving long before the merger. The ZP submitted its inquiry report to the PMC, which is issuing appointment letters to the employees of these gram panchayats.


Earlier, the Municipal Commissioner directed removal of the 46 employees named in the report. Later, it was learnt that 600 employees would be removed from the PMC services.


The inquiry revealed that the bogus recruitment was carried out due to political pressure after the merger announcement and during the legal process of merger was being conducted. These employees were appointed as health workers, infectious diseases controllers, sweepers, street lamp workers, toll recovery workers, drivers and water supply workers. They were drawing salaries ranging from Rs 2,500 to Rs 6,000.


The number employees to be dismissed and gram panchayats are as follows: Bavdhan Budruk – 55, Narhe – 85, Sus – 40, Kondhwe Dhawde – 64, New Kopre – 40, Nanded – 37, Khadakwasla – 56, Holkarwadi – 37, Autade-Handewadi – 28, Kirkatwadi – 5, Vadachiwadi – 14, Nandoshi Sanas Nagar – 19, Mangdewadi – 36, Bhilarewadi – 15, Jambhulwadi-Kolewadi – 45, Gujar Nimbalkarwadi – 34 and Wagholi – 6.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *