UP: Main Mahant, 50 others invited for Pran Pratishtha ceremony of Ram Mandir at Ayodhya


Ayodhya Dec 28 (UNI)- The main Mahant of Nirmohi Akhara, (main litigant in the Ayodhya dispute) and 50 others are among the important invitees for the Ram Mandir Pran Pratishtha Ceremony to be held here on January 22, 2024.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, and RSS Sarsanghchalak Mohan Bhagwat will address the Ram Mandir’s inauguration function.

The Ayodhya head of Nirmohi Akhara, Mahant Dinendra Das said that the General secretary of the Shri Ram Janambhoomi Tirath Kshetra Trust, Sri Champat Rai came to his Ashram and personally invited him and other senior heads of the Akhara for the Ram Mandir Pran Pratishtha ceremony.

About 50 Mahants will be accommodated in the premises of Nirmohi Akhara in Ayodhya and will be duly honoured by PM Modi and CM Yogi Adityanath. Mahant Dinendra Das is also a member of the Shri Ram Janambhoomi Tirath Kshetra Trust.

Nirmohi Akhara was the main litigant in the court case pleading that it was the sole Mahant or Sarbarahkar of the Janam Asthan or Janam Bhumi, the birthplace of Lord Ram Chandra at Ayodhya and the place always belonged to them.

The Case filed by the Nirmohi Akhara on December 17, 1959, was however dismissed by the Supreme Court on the ground that it was” time barred”.

Time barred means that the case was filed Nine years after the incident whereas it should have been filed within six years of the incident. This means that it was filed three years later than the prescribed time limit. The Supreme Court though ruled that the petition of Nirmohi Akhara was time barred, but it recognized the presence of Nirmohi Akhara at the Janam Sthan from the year 1885 onwards.

The Supreme Court in its final judgment passed on November 9, 2019, had directed the central government to set up a trust to oversee and manage the construction of the temple within three months of the judgment. The court had also directed to give appropriate representation to the Nirmohi Akhara.

The Apex Court had awarded the entire disputed 2.77 acres of land to Deity Ram Lalla as well as the 67.703-acre land acquired under the Acquisition of Certain Area at Ayodhya Act, 1993.

The Top Court directed the central government to form a Trust to oversee the construction and management of the temple. Supreme Court also directed that Nirmohi Akhara should be given an appropriate place in the Trust.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi announced the formation of the trust in the Lok Sabha on February 5, 2020.

Senior Advocate K. Parasaran, who represented the Ram Lalla case in the Supreme Court, was made the acting Chairman of the Trust. On 19 February 2020, the trust nominated the rest of its members and elected Mahant Nrityagopal Das as the Chairman. Mahant Dinendra Das was also nominated as a member of the Trust.

Mahant Dinendra Das of Nirmohi Akhara said We are very hopeful that we will regain the Right of being Sarbarahkar (Priest) of the temple, to serve Ram Lalla as a Sevadar soon.

You might also like
Leave a comment