33 opposition Lok Sabha MPs suspended for unruly behaviour


New Delhi, Dec 18 (UNI)- As the opposition parties continued to protest over last week’s Parliament security breach, the Lok Sabha on Monday suspended 33 MPs including Congress leader of the House Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, for the remaining part of the winter session for their “unruly behaviour”.

Among the 33 MPs, three have been suspended for their “grave misconduct” till the report of the Privileges Committee. As pandemonium continued, Speaker Om Birla adjourned the House for the day.

While most opposition members demanded Home Minister Amit Shah come to the House and give a statement on the December 13 security breach in the Lok Sabha, several of them demanded his resignation.

Earlier in the morning, Speaker Om Birla highlighted the measures taken to strengthen the security mechanism of Parliament.

He said that probe is underway in the matter and a Parliamentary high-powered committee has also been set up to investigate the security breach issue.

“Maintaining dignity and decorum of the House is the responsibility of every member and displaying placards and raising slogans are against the rule” Birla said.

Earlier, the House witnessed repeated adjournments as opposition members continued with their protest demanding statements from Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Shah on the incident.

Amid the din, the House passed the Post Office Bill 2023. The Telecommunications Bill, 2023 was also introduced in the Lok Sabha.

The Union government was also planning to push through the three new criminal codes and the bill on a panel to select election commissioners.

Tremors Felt In J&K, Ladakh

Turkey Completes Delivery Of Attack Helicopters To Philippines Ahead Of Schedule

Cong Govt Defiantly Implements Six Guarantees In Telangana: Pongulati Srinivasa Reddy

You might also like
Leave a comment