PMC: Committee Formed to Address Infrastructure and Other Basic Amenities Problems in 34 Villages Amidst Municipal Election Delay


Pune: The plight of 34 villages encompassed within the Pune Municipal Corporation’s jurisdiction has garnered attention due to the absence of municipal elections, halting the involvement of people’s representatives in governance decisions. Consequently, crucial questions regarding the basic amenities of these villages have remained unanswered, exacerbating the developmental stagnation.

In a bid to mitigate these challenges, the government has sanctioned the formation of a committee comprising 18 people’s representatives, with the divisional commissioner appointed as its chairperson. This decision aims to address the longstanding issues plaguing the 34 villages, paving the way for their holistic development.

The order regarding the establishment of the committee was presented by Deputy Secretary of the Urban Development Department, Priyanka Kulkarni. Notably, these villages were incorporated into the Pune Municipal Corporation, with 11 added in 2017 and 23 in 2021. However, the tenure of corporators concluded shortly after their inclusion, leaving the villages devoid of elected representatives.

Subsequently, disputes regarding ward structures and other administrative matters further compounded the challenges faced by these villages, rendering them voiceless in advocating for their needs. Recognising the urgency of the situation, Shiv Sena city chief Pramod Nana Bhangire advocated for the formation of a committee under the divisional commissioner’s stewardship to address the basic facility deficit.

After persistent efforts, Bhangire’s plea was endorsed by the Chief Minister, culminating in the government’s directive to establish the committee. However, the process was not without hurdles, with revisions to the committee’s composition demanded along the way. Initially proposed as an 11-member committee, Bhangire urged for the inclusion of 12 representatives, a request subsequently granted by the Chief Minister.

Following deliberations, the committee’s composition was finally expanded to 18 members, reflecting a collaborative effort to ensure comprehensive representation and effective governance for the 34 villages.

You might also like
Leave a comment