Pune: Diploma Holder in Interior Designing Turned Vehicle Thief Arrested by Sahakarnagar Police


Pune: Sahakarnagar Police have swiftly revealed three cases of vehicle theft after successfully detaining an accused involved in vehicle theft in the area. Police apprehended a well-educated criminal who has a diploma in interior design in the police action on Sunday.

The arrested accused has been identified as Prashant Prabhakar Kanhekar, 47, a resident of Sahil Society, Flat No. 1, Bibvewadi, Pune. Kanhekar was held by Sahakarnagar police in connection with vehicle theft cases within the police station limits.

Sahakarnagar police and assistant staff of the investigation team were patrolling in the area on Sunday night, February 11. At that time, police constables Amol Pawar and Vishal Wagh got information that a person had stopped at Savarkar Chowk in Dhankawadi with a stolen black Activa (MH 12 FE 4596).

Acting quickly on the information, the police immediately rushed to Savarkar Chowk, where they saw the accused going on a bike. The team chased him and successfully detained him after a minor pursuit. After a detention, the accused confessed that he had stolen that bike from D-Mart on Pune-Satara Road on February 8 at around 1.30 p.m.

During further serious interrogation, the accused also admitted his involvement in the theft of another three bikes from the area, which collectively cost Rs 1 lakh, 95 thousand. Police confiscated all those bikes from the accused and revealed three cases of vehicle theft lodged at the Sahakarnagar police station. A case of vehicle theft has been registered against the accused at the Vishrambaug police station.

This action was done under the guidance of Additional Commissioner of Police Western Regional Division Pravin Kumar Patil, Deputy Commissioner of Police Zone-2 Smartana Patil, Assistant Commissioner of Police Nandini Vagyani, and Senior Police Inspector Surendra Malale, by the team of Assistant Police Inspector Bapu Khutwad of the investigation team, and Police Constables Amol Pawar, Mahesh Mandlik, Vishal Wagh, Bajrang Pawar, Nilesh Shivtare, Sagar Sutkar, Sagar Kumbhar, and Navnath Shinde.

You might also like
Leave a comment