Pune: Punit Balan Group to host ‘Friendship Cup’ Cricket Championship from Feb 27; CP Amitesh Kumar to inaugurate the contest


Pune : The Punit Balan Group (PBG) is organising the ‘Friendship Cup’ Cricket Championship, featuring teams of Ganpati mandals, Navratri mandals, Dhol-Tasha troupes and media persons from the city.

The tournament will take place from February 27 to March 1 and will witness the participation of 16 teams.

Punit Balan Group Director Punit Balan announced this novel cricket tournament. The tournament is sponsored by Manikchand Oxyrich. This is the third consecutive season of the competition, with 16 teams competing from Ganapati mandals, Navratri mandals, Dhol-Tasha troupes and the media persons.

Among the noted mandals are Kasba Ganpati Mandal, Shrimant Dagdusheth Halwai Mandal, Tambdi Jogeshwari Mandal, Guruji Talim Mandal, Tulshibaug Ganpati Mandal, Shrimant Bhausaheb Rangari Ganpati Trust, Akhil Mandai Mandal, Garud Ganpati Mandal, Shree Sai Mitra Mandal, Shree Mahalakshmi Temple in Navratri Mandal, Dhol Tasha Vadya Pathak, Shreeram Pathak, Nadbrahma Pathak, and media teams.

Matches will be played at LR Shinde High School playground in Sahakar Nagar. The top eight teams will advance to the knockout stage after the league matches.

Participating Teams:

  1. Guruji Talim Titans
  2. Mahalakshmi Marvix
  3. Mandai Masters
  4. Kasba Super Kings
  5. Garud Strikers
  6. Sai Power Hitters
  7. Dagdusheth Warriors
  8. Rangari Royals
  9. Tulshibaug Tuskers
  10. Jogeshwari Jaguars
  11. Nadbrahma Drummers
  12. Shriram Pathak
  13. Nadbrahma Sarvavadak
  14. Shivamudra Dhol Tasha
  15. Yuva Yoddhas
  16. Media Writers


  • Winning Team: Rs 2.11 lakh and a trophy
  • Runner-up Team: Rs 1.11 lakh and a trophy

Individual Prizes:

  • Best Player of the Series: Rs 51,000 and an electric bike
  • Best Batsman, Bowler, Wicket Keeper, and Fielder: Rs 21,000 each and a medal
  • Fair Play Award: Rs 11,000
  • Best Player of Each Match: Rs 5,000

Pune Police Commissioner Amitesh Kumar will inaugurate the competition at 8:30 am on February 27.

Sai Power Hitters clinched the title in the 2022 tournament, with Jogeshwari Jaguars securing the runner-up position.

You might also like
Leave a comment